1. Chelyabinsk Region Government
  2. Chelyabinsk Region Governor
  3. Legal framework
  4. Send a message

The Governor and the Government of the Chelyabinsk region

"Uralochka", Water Polo Team

The women’s water polo team “Uralochka” (Zlatoust) was established in December, 1985, based on a group of the “Taganay” Sports Club swimmers. Girls from Chelyabinsk joined the team at the beginning of 1987, and the team started to grow from strength to strength. In October 1988, the team won gold medals at the Russian championship. 

Two sportswomen from Lvov, both girls holding the Master of Swimming Sports title, arrived to Zlatoust and joined “Uralochka” in August. After the girls came, the first team leveled off significantly, and the representation within the Russian National Team increased up to 8 sportspersons. Their games in the Russian, USSR Cup and Rossoviet Championships resulted in the team’s confident wins for two years in succession. The team performed brilliantly in the USSR Championship and won bronze medals for the first time. 

The 1990 season is rightfully considered a golden year for “Uralochka”. The team of Chelyabinsk region first won gold medals for sports games at the USSR Championship. The Russian Champion title went to “Uralochka” in 1992.  Among the union teams, “Uralochka” was the first to make a start in the European Champions’ Cup tournaments and won a second place.

Three years later, “Uralochka” youth team became a Russian Champion for the fourth time. “Uralochka” won bronze medals, having lost to “SKIF” Moscow and “SKIF-91” Krasnodar teams. Both those clubs gained the championship lead in subsequent years.

“Uralochka” got an opportunity to participate in the Hungarian Open Championship 1999, and became the Silver Prizewinner at the tournament. The team won the seventh place at the World Cup. Four sportswomen from the South Ural team were members of the Olympic National Team at the Olympics in Sydney. The National Team became the Bronze Prizewinner of the Olympics as a result. In 2002, “Uralochka” became the Silver Prizewinner of the European Champions Cup. In 2006, Women’s Club “Uralochka-ZMZ” Zlatoust became holder of the Water Polo Russian Cup having defeated “KINEF-Surgutneftegaz” Kirishi, the 2006 Russian Champions, in the finals scoring 13:11.   

Moreover, the “Uralochka” sportswomen performing at championships at different levels as members of the Russian National Team regularly become prizewinners. Evgenia Protsenko, Yekaterina Pantyulina, Alyona Vylegzhanina, Julia Gaufler and Yekaterina Kuznetsova became European Champions in 2006. Natalia Shepelina, Alyona Vylegzhanina and Evgenia Protsenko became Euro 2008 Champions. The World League 2008 Champion title was awarded to Natalia Shepelina, Alyona Vylegzhanina, Evgenia Protsenko and Julia Gaufler.

The opening ceremony of the swimming pool built, using regional budgetary funds, especially for the “Uralochka” team members took place in Zlatoust in December 2008. The swimming pool was subsequently given the status of the Olympic Water Sports Training Center.

Today, the team keeps training regularly, the club members playing for the Russian National Team in regional, All-Russian and international sports competitions.

Club Achievements:
– Holder of the USSR Cup (1989)
– USSR Champion (1990)
– Russian Champion (1992 and 1999-2002)
– Silver Prizewinner of the Russian Championships (1996-1998 and 2004-2008)
– Bronze Prizewinner of the Russian Championships (1993, 1995 and 2003)
– Holder of the Russian Cup (2006)
– Silver Prizewinner of the European Champions Cup (1992 and 2002)
– Bronze Prizewinner of the European Champions Cup (2001 and 2003)

Website: http://zlat-uralochka.ru

Address: Taganayskaya Street, 1 А, Zlatoust, Chelyabinsk Region, Russian Federation, 456200
Phone: +7 (3513) 62-15-83

Created: November 12, 2010
Updated: January 16, 2017

Path to this page: